<

Head of Department
Willard Mbava
Dr Willard Mbava
Position: HOD
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Email: Willard.Mbava@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), MSc (UZ)

Administrative Staff
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Position: Departmental Secretary
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2310
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: christa.esterhuizen@mandela.ac.za

Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Position: Administrative Assistant
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3457
Email: Vuyokazi.Xako@mandela.ac.za

Academic Staff
Appanah Rao Appadu
Prof. Rao Appadu
Position: Assoc. Prof.
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 23
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2830
Email: Rao.Appadu@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Numerical Analysis, Computational Fluid Dynamics
Responsibilities: Lecturer, Supervisor (Hons, MSc, PhD)
My site: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9783-9790

Markc
Mr. Mark Conley
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 0217
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27415043271
Email: Mark.Conley@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc.Honours Mathematics
Expertise: Master courses in
Responsibilities: Lecturing Mathematics modules

Tresia Louisa Holtzhausen
Ms Tresia Holtzhausen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070227
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2602
Email: tresia.holtzhausen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Applied Mathematics
Expertise: Network Science : Multiplex Networks, Dynamical Systems, Biomathematics (Epidemiology : Population Dynamics )
Responsibilities: Lecturer, Supervisor (Hons)

Dr Suresh Juglal
Dr Suresh Juglal
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 29
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2595
Fax: +27 41 504 2302
Email: suresh.juglal@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)
Expertise: Abstract Algebra
Responsibilities: Senior Lecturer/ Supervisor (Honours and MSc)

Mulalom
Miss Mulalo Makhuvha
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070234
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 415 042756
Email: Mulalo.Makhuvha@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Applied Mathematics
Expertise: Bio-mathematics(Epidemiology)

Dr Jacob Maritz
Dr Jacob Maritz
Position: HOD
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 0221
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5042018
Email: jakes.maritz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Ph.D. Mathematics
Expertise: Graph Theory, Algebra
Responsibilities: Head of Department

Willard Mbava
Dr Willard Mbava
Position: HOD
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 21
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Email: Willard.Mbava@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), MSc (UZ)
Expertise: Biomathematics (Ecological and Epidemiological Modelling), Control and Optimal Control
Responsibilities: HOD, Lecturer, Supervisor (Hons, MSc, PhD)

Mr Christopher Owen Parsons
Mr Christopher Parsons
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 12
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2658
Fax: 27 41 504 1934
Email: christopher.parsons@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Mr Quentin Petersen
Mr Quentin Petersen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2594
Email: quentin.petersen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Christiaan Pretorius
Dr Christiaan Pretorius
Position: Lecturer: Applied Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 26
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2220
Email: cpretorius@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Evolutionary Optimization, Robotic Control, Artificial Neural Networks, Differential Equations
Responsibilities: Lecturer, Supervisor

Heinrich Smith
Mr Heinrich Smith
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070228
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4598
Email: h.smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)
Expertise: Numerical Analysis, Scientific Programming, MATLAB Software

Prof Maritz Snyders
Prof Maritz Snyders
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07-02-15
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2303
Email: maritz.snyders@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Mathematics
Expertise: Alternative routes of access into higher education, Centre for Extended Studies, Mathematics education
Responsibilities: Lecturing Mathematics modules

BJ Sokopo
Mr Bulelani Sokopo
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070228
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044891
Fax: 0415042302/086 600 1132
Email: bulelani.sokopo@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Cum Laude), BSc(Hons)(Cum Laude), MSc(Cum Laude)
Expertise: Functional analysis, Operator algebra theory. Other interests include Algebra, Topology and Number Theory

Mr Tanki Thelejane
Mr Tanki Thelejane
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2999
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: tj.thelejane@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Unitra)

Avatar
Prof Stefan Veldsman
Position: Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070225A
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4728
Email: stefan.veldsman@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Mathematics
Responsibilities: Professor

Dr Shirley  Wagner-Welsh
Dr Shirley Wagner-Welsh
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2553
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: shirley.wagner-welsh@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), MSc (UPE), BCom (UPE), BScHons (UPE), BSc (UPE)
Expertise: Mathematics Education
Responsibilities: lecturer, Supervisor (Hons)

Dr Martin Weigt
Dr Martin Weigt
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 25B
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4742
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: martin.weigt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UCT), MSc (Stell)
Expertise: Functional Analysis, Banach and operator algebras, non-normed topological algebras

Avatar
Mr Pumelela Zembe
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070219
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042134
Email: Pumelela.Zembe@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
Expertise: BioMathematics and Optimal Control
Responsibilities: Lecturing and Research

Dr Jacob Maritz
Dr Jacob Maritz
Position: HOD
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 0221
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5042018
Email: jakes.maritz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Ph.D. Mathematics
Expertise: Graph Theory, Algebra
Responsibilities: Head of Department

Professors Emeritus
Prof Geoff Booth
Prof Geoff Booth
Position: Director of the School of Computing Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Department: Faculty of Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1233
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: geoff.booth@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Hons) (UCT), MSc (Rhodes), PhD (Stell)

Prof John Gonsalves
Prof John Gonsalves
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2602
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: john.gonsalves@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)

Prof Nico Groenewald
Prof Nico Groenewald
Position: Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: nico.groenewald@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE), PhD (Rhodes)

Prof Peter Hall
Prof Peter Hall
Position: Contract Lecturer: Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1225
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: peter.hall@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD