<

Discovering tomorrow

Mathematics and Applied Mathematics


Head of Department
Eugen Straeuli
Eugen Straeuli
Position: Associate Professor & Head of Department
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2830
Fax: 27 41 504 2369
Email: Eugen.Straeuli@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc(UP), DPhil(Zurich)

Administrative Staff
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Position: Departmental Secretary
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2310
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: christa.esterhuizen@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: ND Management (NMMU)

Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Position: Administrative Assistant
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4316
Email: Vuyokazi.Xako@nmmu.ac.za

Academic Staff
Mr Japie Coetzee
Mr Japie Coetzee
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 3455
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: japie.coetzee@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc(UPE)

Mr Johan de Jager
Mr Johan de Jager
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070213/D108
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3271/3333
Fax: 27 41 504 3925
Email: johan.dejager@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Prof John Gonsalves
Prof John Gonsalves
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2602
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: john.gonsalves@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)

Mr Mogamat Armien Hendricks
Mr Mogamat Armien Hendricks
Position: Lecturer & Timetable Coordinator: Extended Programmes
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2352
Email: mogamat.hendricks@nmmu.ac.za

Dr Jacob Maritz
Dr Jacob Maritz
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 5042018
Email: jakes.maritz@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Wmbava
Mr Willard Mbava
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: Willard.Mbava2@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Dr Pragashni Padayachee
Dr Pragashni Padayachee
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2756
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: pragashni.padayachee@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Natal), Bsc Hon(UNISA), HED(Vista), MEd(Vista), PHD ( NMMU)

Mr Christopher Owen Parsons
Mr Christopher Parsons
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 12
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2658
Fax: 27 41 504 1934
Email: christopher.parsons@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Mr Quentin Petersen
Mr Quentin Petersen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2594
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: quentin.petersen@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Ms Sandy Potgieter
Ms Sandy Potgieter
Position: Lecturer & Coordinator: Extended Programmes
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 1187
Fax: +27 41 504 1205
Email: sandy.potgieter@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA (UPE), HED (UNISA), BTech (PET), MEd (UPE)

Mr Christiaan Pretorius
Mr Christiaan Pretorius
Position: Lecturer: Applied Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2220
Email: cpretorius@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Ms Louise Schoeman
Ms Louise Schoeman
Position: Lecturer: Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2642
Email: louise.schoeman@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA (Hons) (UPE)

Mr Heinrich Smith
Mr Heinrich Smith
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4598
Fax: 0866 416 233
Email: h.smith@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Prof Maritz Snyders
Prof Maritz Snyders
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07-02-15
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2303
Email: maritz.snyders@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Mathematics

Mr Tanki Thelejane
Mr Tanki Thelejane
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2220
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: tj.thelejane@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Unitra)

Dr Marguerite Walton
Dr Marguerite Walton
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070233
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2055
Fax: 27 41 504 1655
Email: marguerite.walton@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)

Dr Martin Weigt
Dr Martin Weigt
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4742
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: martin.weigt@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Professors Emeritus
Prof Geoff Booth
Prof Geoff Booth
Position: Director of the School of Computing Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Department: Faculty of Science
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 1233
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: geoff.booth@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Hons) (UCT), MSc (Rhodes), PhD (Stell)

Prof Nico Groenewald
Prof Nico Groenewald
Position: Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: nico.groenewald@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE), PhD (Rhodes)

Prof Peter Hall
Prof Peter Hall
Position: Contract Lecturer: Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 1225
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: peter.hall@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD