<

Change the world

Mathematics and Applied Mathematics


Head of Department
Dr Jacob Maritz
Dr Jacob Maritz
Position: HOD
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5042018
Email: jakes.maritz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Administrative Staff
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Ms Christa Esterhuizen
Position: Departmental Secretary
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2310
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: christa.esterhuizen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: ND Management (NMMU)

Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Ms Vuyokazi Xako
Position: Administrative Assistant
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3457
Email: Vuyokazi.Xako@mandela.ac.za

Academic Staff
Mr Johan de Jager
Mr Johan de Jager
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070213/D108
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3271/3333
Fax: 27 41 504 3925
Email: johan.dejager@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Tresia Louisa Holtzhausen
Ms Tresia Holtzhausen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Faculty of Science
Room: 070227
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2602
Email: tresia.holtzhausen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Applied Mathematics
Expertise: Multiplex Networks, Dynamical Systems, Biomathematics (Epidemiology : Population Dynamics )

Dr Suresh Juglal
Dr Suresh Juglal
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 29
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2595
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: suresh.juglal@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)
Expertise: Near-rings, Group near-rings

Mulalom
Miss Mulalo Makhuvha
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070234
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042756
Email: Mulalo.Makhuvha@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Hons) Applied Mathematics

Dr Jacob Maritz
Dr Jacob Maritz
Position: HOD
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 0221
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 5042018
Email: jakes.maritz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Willard Mbava
Dr Willard Mbava
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 32
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Email: Willard.Mbava@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), MSc (UZ)
Expertise: Biomathematics - Ecological and epidemiological modelling

Mr Christopher Owen Parsons
Mr Christopher Parsons
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07 02 12
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2658
Fax: 27 41 504 1934
Email: christopher.parsons@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Mr Quentin Petersen
Mr Quentin Petersen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2594
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: quentin.petersen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)

Mr Christiaan Pretorius
Mr Christiaan Pretorius
Position: Lecturer: Applied Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2220
Email: cpretorius@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Heinrich Smith
Mr Heinrich Smith
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070228
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4598
Email: h.smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE)
Expertise: Numerical Analysis, Scientific Programming, MATLAB Software

Prof Maritz Snyders
Prof Maritz Snyders
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 07-02-15
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2303
Email: maritz.snyders@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Mathematics
Expertise: Alternative routes of access into higher education, Centre for Extended Studies, Mathematics education
Responsibilities: Lecturing Mathematics modules

Eugen Straeuli
Eugen Straeuli
Position: Associate Professor & Head of Department
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2830
Fax: 27 41 504 2369
Email: Eugen.Straeuli@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc(UP), DPhil(Zurich)
Expertise: Functional Analysis
Responsibilities: Lecturer

Mr Tanki Thelejane
Mr Tanki Thelejane
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2999
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: tj.thelejane@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (Unitra)

Avatar
Prof Stefan Veldsman
Position: Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070225A
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4728
Email: stefan.veldsman@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Mathematics
Responsibilities: Professor

Dr Shirley  Wagner-Welsh
Dr Shirley Wagner-Welsh
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2553
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: shirley.wagner-welsh@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU), MSc (UPE), BCom (UPE), BScHons (UPE), BSc (UPE)

Dr Marguerite Walton
Dr Marguerite Walton
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Room: 070233
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2055
Fax: 27 41 504 1655
Email: marguerite.walton@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)

Dr Martin Weigt
Dr Martin Weigt
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 4742
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: martin.weigt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Functional Analysis, Banach and operator algebras, non-normed topological algebras

 Phumelela Zembe
Phumelela Zembe

Professors Emeritus
Prof Geoff Booth
Prof Geoff Booth
Position: Director of the School of Computing Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Department: Faculty of Science
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1233
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: geoff.booth@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Hons) (UCT), MSc (Rhodes), PhD (Stell)

Prof Nico Groenewald
Prof Nico Groenewald
Position: Professor
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2289
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: nico.groenewald@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc (UPE), PhD (Rhodes)

Prof Peter Hall
Prof Peter Hall
Position: Contract Lecturer: Mathematics
Department: Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1225
Fax: 27 41 504 2302
Email: peter.hall@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD